2015 Best Development Awards

posted on Wednesday, November 25, 2015

2015 best development awards1,000 Friends of Iowa, a Council member organization that advocates for responsible land use, is currently accepting nominations for the 2015 Best Development Awards.

The Best Development Awards were established in 2001 to showcase development projects and programs in Iowa that best reflect the principles of smart growth and sustainability, and to recognize the efforts of the cities, companies, organizations, and individuals that are responsible for these projects.

Award recipients demonstrate how responsible development practices provide benefits to the community, the environment and quality of life for future generations.

Awards are given in seven categories:

  • New Residential
  • Renovated Residential
  • New Commercial/Civic
  • Renovated Commercial/Civic
  • Mixed Use
  • Leadership
  • Storm Water Management

Applications must be received by Dec. 15, 2015. An awards ceremony will be held Jan. 21, 2016 at the State Capitol Rotunda to recognize winners.

For information about how to submit a nomination, the Principles of Smart Growth, or to read about previous Best Development winners, visit 1000friendsofiowa.org.

For additional information please contact Best Development Awards Coordinator, Lori Schervish at awards@1000friendsofiowa.org or Executive Director, Kari Carney at kari@1000friendsofiowa.org